Seacrets White Rum

The Distillery
Seacrets Distilling Company

The Location
Ocean City

The Spirit
White Rum

Can you keep a secret? I’ve lived in Maryland for 13 years and I’ve never been to Ocean City. I feel like I have failed as a wannabe Marylander. Maybe I can pretend that drinking Seacrets white rum is a reasonable substitute.

Normally, I don’t drink straight shots of rum (especially not after New Year’s Eve 2005… shudder), but I am nothing if not thorough here. It smells like rubbing alcohol, but that’s not a bad thing for white rum. It is much sweeter than it smells, even with the astringent bitterness that comes with drinking fresh rum. It’s a really smooth, velvety drink that provides a nice base for mojitos and daiquiris and for the recipe below.

Fig Leaf Flip

I pulled this delicious concoction out of the Complete World Bartender Guide. It’s hard to tell where the Fig Leaf Flip comes from, but I saw a reference to tiki bartender Adam Rocke being the originator. I’m a bit skeptical, only because it’s a fairly straightforward drink, which is out of character with your typical tiki libation. But I’m more than willing to give Rocke the credit.

Ingredients

  • 1½ ounces sweet vermouth
  • 1 ounce Seacrets white rum
  • 3 dashes of bitters
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • Ice cubes
  • 1 pitted cherry
Instructions
Add the vermouth, rum, bitters, juice, and ice into a cocktail shaker. Shake vigorously until very cold. Double strain into a highball glass filled with ice and serve with the cherry on top.
