Twin Valley Distillers Bourbon Whiskey

The Distillery
Twin Valley Distillers

The Location
Rockville

The Spirit
Single Cask Barrel Bourbon Whiskey

I am not much of a liquor drinker. I prefer wine with dinner and if I’m looking for a drink after work or during a sporting event, I reach for a beer. But I’ve always had a fondness for whiskey and its variations. I generally like bourbon the most, because I like my whiskeys sweet. It’s something I know about myself and I am comfortable with it.

For Christmas a couple of years ago, my wife got me tickets to a tour of Twin Valley Distillers, which is located walking distance from our house. Because Rockville is amazing.

Twin Valley’s bourbon is right up my alley. It smells of kettle corn. While it has a harsh twang of alcohol when you first taste it, that quickly gives away to a rich, sweet caramel corn flavor. It is great to sip on a cold winter’s night, but it is also versatile enough to stand up to any whiskey cocktail concoction that you mix it into.

I am not one to drink local just because it’s local. I do expect quality as well. And I can tell Twin Valley has pride in its work.

