Born Bohemian

The Brewery
Denizens Brewing Co.

The Location
Silver Spring

The Beer
Born Bohemian

Look, I don’t want to come off as some sort of Denizens fanboy, but since I reviewed Denizens’ Lowest Lord back in February, it has become my favorite beer. I have consumed a goodly amount of it.

But just as one cannot live on kung pao tofu alone, one can also not live off of one beer. Moreover, as much as I love English-style bitters, I like the Middle European-style lagers and Pilsners even more. The Czech Republic (or Czechia, as the Czech government is aiming to be called from here on out) is probably Europe’s beer central, which, when you consider Germany and Austria are right next door, is saying something.

So Denizens doing a Czech-style Pilsner is sort of gutsy. It has a lot to live up to.

Born Bohemian has a yeasty nose and a refreshing, sweet wheat flavor that lingers. It is tastes like a classic Pilsner and it is super delicious. In fact, Czechs would be hard-pressed to tell the difference between this and their native, local beer. And they would probably like this more and feel so guilty about it they would cry into their next three pints of it.

So maybe I do want to come off as some sort of Denizens fanboy.

